Stepping Out in Faith

It has been one month since I transitioned from college professor to stay-at-home mother. This decision was the best decision I could absolutely make for my son and I’s well-being.

I have always been one who drives myself hard. I vividly remember the summer before my sophomore year of high school and attending the Kansas State Student Council Conference. The speaker was discussing motivation. He stated we should always strive for “harder, faster, higher, stronger.” I took that in to my core. I actually took it in to my detriment.

What many don’t know is that for me to finally admit to myself that my psychiatric illness has progressed to a point I can no longer balance my academic career with parenthood is a monumental achievement for me. To finally put the mantras of doing just a little more aside, is an achievement my psychiatric health providers thought they would never see.

There is also another aspect to this astounding achievement. I finally began to quiet the childhood messages I had been harboring for thirty years. Throughout my childhood, I was told how I was lazy or wouldn’t be able to work for a living due to my laziness. The repeated messages drove me to destruction. I would often work two or more jobs, teach overloaded semesters, or even drive ninety miles one way to work at a particular university just to prove to the universe that I was not lazy.

But, I finally said no to this self-sabotage. My illnesses were rapidly progressing, my cognitive decline was gaining momentum, and the most precious soul in front of me was growing faster every day. My doctor stated she respected me, but that my work ethic was my detriment and was hastening my demise.  And truly, at the end of the day, I had to ask who I was trying to prove my worth to… myself or the messages?

So, I stepped out in faith.

I now spend my days with my amazing child. I am also able to set up a routine for myself, which is so important for anyone with a schizophrenic disorder. There is not a lot of money rolling in; but, there never really was when I was teaching. Sometimes, the rewards of faith carry value that cannot be counted by dollar bills.

One thought on “Stepping Out in Faith

  1. I admire your courage and focus Karen, you are very much a person of worth, someone of great value and those who think differently are the ones with the problem not you.

    We have a very dear friend who has a Schizophrenic disorder and he is a wonderful caring man, gentle and compassionate and very gifted, his wife also a very faithful friend has stood by him through all his ups and downs and believes that she was very blessed to have Married him, as I’m sure your husband thinks too about you Karen. They have two wonderful Children now in their late Teens both free from any mental problems, My friend is greatly Loved and valued by those in his Church and would have to be the most faithful friend we have ever had.

    I would Love to see a Picture of your amazing son, how blessed he is to have you as a Mom.

    Christian Love Always from both of us- Anne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

